Skip to main content

Port of Corpus Christi Continues to Maintain Uninterrupted Business Operations

Published by , Editor
Dry Bulk,

The Port of Corpus Christi continues to maintain uninterrupted business operations as it works in close cooperation with federal, state and local governments, as well as industry in the implementation of its COVID-19 response measures.

The Port of Corpus Christi Incident Management Team (IMT) was activated 13 February 2020 and will remain active for the duration of this pandemic.

The Port of Corpus Christi is adhering to Centre for Disease Control (CDC) and Nueces and San Patricio County Health Department recommendations designed to ensure the secure continuation of commerce in domestic and international shipping, refining and manufacturing. In accordance with President Trump’s Coronavirus Guidelines for America, the Port of Corpus Christi is considered critical infrastructure and thus has a special responsibility to maintain safe operations. The port is taking appropriate measures to protect its employees, stakeholders and the surrounding communities while implementing national and global response measures.

“First and foremost, the Port of Corpus Christi is committed to ensuring public health and safety. We continue to work with the US Coast Guard, US Customs and Border Protection, state and county health departments and their emergency management teams in applying every precaution necessary to protect people’s lives and livelihoods,” said Sean Strawbridge, CEO for the Port of Corpus Christi. “Our preparedness measures are tested and robust as was evidenced by our response to Hurricane Harvey, a Category 4 hurricane which directly hit the Port of Corpus Christi in 2017. We have the people, policies, processes and equipment needed to navigate this evolving situation.”

Presidential Proclamations have placed entry restrictions from persons arriving from or through the following countries: Iran, China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau), the European states within the Schengen Area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland), and beginning at 11:59 p.m. eastern standard daylight savings time on 16 March 2020, the UK and Republic of Ireland.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Dry bulk shipping market