Skip to main content

Republic of Korea implements national sulfur emission control area

Published by , Editor
Dry Bulk,

The Republic of Korea (South Korea) is the latest country to announce the designation of national sulfur emission control areas, which will enter into force on 1 September 2020.

The national South Korean sulfur restrictions will apply to the following six ports, and a national sulphur emission control area has been defined for each port:

  • Busan port.
  • Incheon port.
  • Ulsan port.
  • Yeosu port.
  • Gwangyang port (including Hadong port).
  • Pyeongtaek-Dangjin port.

Initially, from 1 September 2020, ships will have to switch to fuel oil not exceeding a sulfur content of 0.10% from 1 hour after completion of anchoring or mooring to 1 hour before completion of heaving up the anchor or de-berthing.

From 1 January 2022, the requirement within the national sulphur emission control areas will be tightened and ships will have to switch to fuel oil not exceeding a sulfur content of 0.10% from entering national sulphur emission control areas until having left.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Ready to revolutionise the cement industry?

Join our sister publication, World Cement, in Lisbon, 10 – 13 March 2024, for their first in-person conference and exhibition: EnviroTech.

This exclusive knowledge and networking event will bring together cement producers, industry leaders, technical experts, analysts, and other stakeholders to discuss the latest technologies, processes, and policies being deployed at the forefront of the cement industry’s efforts to reduce its environmental footprint.

Get your early bird tickets NOW »


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Dry cargo shipping news