Skip to main content

Vanessa Baugh to chair governing board of Port Manatee

Published by
Dry Bulk,

Vanessa Baugh has been elected to a one-year term as chairwoman of the governing board of Port Manatee.

Two of the board’s newest member – Priscilla Whisenant Trace and Stephen R. Jonsson – as well as current member, Charles B. Smith, have also been chosen to be officers.

Baugh has served on the Manatee County Port Authority board since 2012.

Also elected to one-year terms as officers at the 15 December meeting of the Manatee County Port Authority were Whisenant Trace, as first vice chairwoman; Smith, continuing as second vice chairman; and Jonsson, as third vice chairman.

Port Manatee’s governing body is completed by members Betsy Benac, who has just finished a year as chairwoman, former chair Carol Whitmore and Robin DiSabatino.

The authority board, which sets policy and oversees major expenditures for Port Manatee, consists of the seven members of the elected Manatee County Commission, but with distinctively separate officers and financial accountability. Whisenant Trace and Jonsson have become members of the port board following recent election to the Manatee County Commission.

Members of the authority board serve four-year staggered terms, with an annual election of officers.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):